Joel Shapira Guitarist

Joel Shapira - electric guitars
Bruce "Pooch" Heine - acoustic & electric bass
David Stanoch - trapset

St. Paul Pioneer Press - January 14, 2001 Local Artists Produce Impressive Releases
by Bob Protzman
"Triplicate," Triplicate, Rhythmelodic
* * * 1/2 - (out of a possible 4 stars)

"The past year was perhaps the most productive and rewarding in some time for jazz recordings by Twin Cities musicians.

Add to those these fine recent releases from the trio Triplicate (Joel Shapira, guitar; Bruce "Pooch" Heine, bass; Dave Stanoch, drums) and the duo of valve trombonist Brad Bellows and guitarist Dean Granros.

Triplicate is deceptively excellent. A band for some five years (you can hear it in their in-sync and interactive playing), its members have varied and extensive resumes as students, players and teachers, evident in the choice of material, incorporation of various idioms, and high level of musicianship.

There's an appealing deliberateness, spareness and relaxed feeling with Triplicate, reflected in some pieces played at a slower-than-usual tempo and the breathing room in the group's ensemble arrangements, as well as in solos by each player.

Speaking of solos, there's a maturity here, too, with no flashy passages, superficial energy, or showy displays--just direct, un-complicated playing that reaches the listener on many levels.

You'll hear Thelonious Monk's "Bemsha Swing," an Afro-Cuban, Brazilian reading of the standard "You Don't Know What Love Is." Bud Powell's hard-swinging "Webb City," Charles Mingus's "Nostalgia in Times Square," a John McLaughlin composition interpolated with something from the rock group Led Zeppelin, a funky Nawlins "Crescent City Strut," J.J. Johnson's haunting "Lament," a jazz-rock piece by Stanoch, and a multi-metered tune from Heine.

01. Bemsha Swing
02. Nostalgia in Times Square
03. You Don't Know What Love Is
04. Webb City
05. Blues for Buhaina
06. Tones for Elvin Jones
07. Lament
08. Crescent City Strut
09. Third Wind
10. Sweet and Lovely
11. Make Up Your Mind

Download Winamp Player

Sound Samples in MP3 Format

This CD must be ordered directly from Joel Shapira.

After five years of fruitful collaboration -- and gigs at every bar, bookshop and public park that let them plug in -- this hometown jazz trio was plenty ready to record its first CD. Empathy abounds on Triplicate's untitled new release for Rhythmelodic Records. This polished band more than capably covers a lot of hip turf: hard bop, jazz-rock, Monk, Mingus, New Orleans funk, even a snatch of Led Zeppelin. Guitarist Joel Shapira, bassist Bruce (Pooch) Heine and drummer Dave Stanoch make all the disparate elements fit into a refined and personalized jazz trio travelin' bag. Heine's eloquence is palpable on the J.J. Johnson ballad classic, "Lament." Stanoch brews up a trap set storm on "Third Wind," an original tune. Shapira goes acoustic when you least expect it ("Crescent City Strut"), then plays pretty for all the parents in earshot on "Sweet and Lovely." Triplicate's debut album is a tres hip trip.

-Tom Surowicz, Mpls Star Tribune


Back to Recordings